YRC Freight Professional Drivers head to 2018 National Truck Driving Championships

YRCW) professional drivers have qualified to compete at the 2018 National Truck Driving Championships (NTDC), the “Superbowl of Safety,” in Columbus, Ohio. The event is sponsored by the American Trucking Association on August 15-18, 2018 at the Greater Columbus Convention Center.

These YRC Freight safety professionals and state safety champions will compete against over 430 of the nation’s most elite professional drivers in a variety of safety challenges and competitions.

To qualify for NTDC, drivers must first take top honors by class in their respective state competitions, maintain continuous employment with a motor carrier fleet for a period of at least one year, and remain accident-free, regardless of fault, for one year prior to NTDC.

The competition consists of: 1) driver skills challenge; 2) pre-trip inspection; 3) written exam on subjects such as laws, regulations and vehicle maintenance. Winners are determined based on overall scores at the end of competition. First-, second-, and third-place finishers compete for each class, plus a Professional Excellence award, Vehicle Condition award, Rookie of the Year award, and the ultimate–the Grand Champion award (the competitor with the highest overall score across all classes).

“The National Truck Driving Championships is a highly prestigious event,” said T.J. O’Connor, president of YRC Freight. “Just qualifying for this competition is an exceptional accomplishment in itself. We are very proud of these professional drivers who are safety champions in their respective states. Through a lot of hard work, dedication and a committed safety focus, they have established themselves as some of the very best drivers in the United States. Congratulations and the best of luck at NTDC! I thank them, as well as all of our hard-working, safety-focused YRC Freight drivers. Everyone wins when safety skills improve on our highways and byways.”

Champion State Class
Michael Appleman KS Flatbed
Stevie Armstrong MS Straight Truck
Scott Archer IL Straight Truck
Mark Fitterer MN Sleeper
Onesimo Garanda TX Sleeper
Jerry Kraetsch MN Flatbed
Bill Krouse MN Twins
Alphonso Lewis AL 3-Axle
Henry Mahler FL Twins
Tim McNamee MN 5-Axle
Neil Nogues NH Straight Truck
Bruce Quaal MN 4-Axle
Robert Ragsdale OK Flatbed
Jeff Rose OH Twins
Tim Smith UT 5-Axle
Paul Unser ID Straight Truck
Wade Wagemann SD Twins
Jimmy Wisely KS 3-Axle
John Brownawell PA Twins

The National Truck Driving Championships bring elite drivers, the “best of the best,” dedicated safety professionals and their families together for a special week of safety superiority, enhanced knowledge, pride and comradery. Most drivers who attend say that it is one of the highlights of their careers.

Fans and supporters of YRC Freight professional drivers are invited to follow their NTDC progress on Facebook