Holland professional driver named 2013 Michigan Driver of the Year

The Michigan Trucking Association (MTA) has named Holland professional driver Mike Finn as their 2013 Driver of the Year. The honor is extended to just one Michigan driver per year to recognize excellence in safety, work habits, and public and customer relations. The Driver of the Year is selected from the twelve Drivers of the Month. He accepted his award from Ruth Johnson, the Michigan Secretary of State, at the MTA’s annual Safety Awards Banquet. “Drivers like Mike Finn are what make Holland the leader it is today,” said Scott Ware, Holland president. “We have great programs and offer customers tremendous value, but our company’s success really comes down to the service delivered by drivers like Mike. We are excited to have him receive this honor, and privileged to have a driver of Mike’s caliber be a part of Team Holland. We congratulate Mike for his victory and thank him for his continued commitment to customer service and safety.”

Mike operates out of the Birch Run, MI service center, making his daily run to/from South Bend, Ind. His route takes him directly through a regional snow belt, making his safety record that much more impressive. He has been driving professionally for 34 years, 26 of those with Holland. In that time, Mike has built a perfect safety record, has never had a lost-time injury, and has accumulated over 3.2 million accident-free miles. “Mike is a true leader and a great example for all our drivers,” said Keith Soyza, Birch Run service center manager. “He takes pride in doing his job right and always tries to give customers more than they might expect. He is an outstanding, dependable employee who always gets the job done.” “I am humbled and proud of this recognition,” said Mike Finn. “Customer service and safe work habits are a part of what I do every day.”