Current Issue
Material Handling Wholesaler Cover
December 2017
Enjoy the December cover story as Dave Baiocchi helps you transition from supplier to strategic partner

Industry News

View Material Handling Wholesaler's profile on LinkedIn

Rail safety achievements honored at E.H. Harriman Awards

Railroads with the industry’s best safety performance records today were honored at the annual E.H. Harriman Awards ceremony, which also marked the industry’s near century long commitment to safety and innovation with the Centennial Award. Railroad safety performance records were set in 2011, according to the Association of American Railroads (AAR), including significant reductions achieved in both employee casualty and grade crossing collision rates, down 12.4 percent and 4.7 percent respectively compared with 2010.  The train accident rate last year was almost flat compared with the record low set in 2010, up just 0.47 percent. The annual Harriman Awards were established by the late Mrs. Mary W. Harriman in memory of her husband, Edward H. Harriman, an American legend in railroading. The 2011 E.H. Harriman Awards winners are as follows:

  • In Group A, comprising line-haul railroads whose employees worked 15 million employee-hours or more, Norfolk Southern received the gold award for the 23rd year in a row. CSX Transportation won the silver award and Union Pacific Railroad the bronze award.
  • In Group B, line-haul railroads whose employees worked 4 to 15 million employee-hours, the gold award went to Kansas City Southern Railway for the sixth year in a row. The silver award went to Canadian National (U.S. Operations), while the bronze went to Metra.
  • Group C includes railroads whose employees worked between 250,000 and 4 million employee-hours. The gold award went to the Buffalo and Pittsburgh Railroad, while the Portland & Western Railroad took the silver and the Florida East Coast Railway the bronze.
  • In Group S&T, for switching and terminal companies with more than 250,000 employee hours, the Union Railway took the gold, while the silver award went to the Belt Railway of Chicago and the Birmingham Southern Railroad received the bronze award.

One railroad in the various categories was honored for showing the most improvement in lowering injury rates between 2010 and 2011.  Awards went to BNSF (Group A); Florida East Coast Railway (Group C), and the Belt Railway of Chicago (S&T). There was no award in Group B.