Current Issue
Material Handling Wholesaler Cover
January 2018
Read the January cover story to see what Garry Bartecki is expecting in 2018 from a tax viewpoint

Industry News

View Material Handling Wholesaler's profile on LinkedIn

ABF’s McFarlin wins top safety award

The American Trucking Association (ATA) has named Jim McFarlin, director of safety and security for ABF Freight System, Inc., as the 2003 Safety Director of the Year.

The Safety Director of the Year award is presented annually by the ATA's Safety and Loss Prevention Management Council to the motor carrier safety executive whose professional qualifications, safety programs, and achievements are considered outstanding. Sponsored by Aon Truck Group, it is the highest honor given to a professional in the field of motor carrier safety. In announcing its selection, ATA president and CEO Bill Graves stated, "The trucking industry is extremely proud of professionals like Jim and the example they set for the trucking industry in making the business of trucking and highway travel safe for everyone."

ABF vice president of safety and security A.J. Phillips added," At ABF, the safety of out customers, employees, and the public who share our nation's highways is of highest priority. Under Jim McFarlin's leadership, ABF's safety record continues to set the standard for the trucking industry. The ATA has made an excellent choice in selecting Jim to receive this award. Over our 80-year history, we have invested a tremendous amount of time and resources to develop the best freight-handling and driving practices in our industry. We remain equally committed to providing exceptional customer care and maintaining best-in-class safety procedures."